Dressing for Four Seasons in One Day

12:00 p.m.: “With bare legs in early spring, a closed-toe shoe is still appropriate. Often I’ll wear my white Chanel loafers in the office to make the slip dresses feel more appropriate for day.”
J.Crew Biella patent-leather loafers, $230;

9:00 a.m.: “The look is essentially a couple of slip dresses and a long coat with a beanie rolled up in the pocket. In the early morning, when it’s autumn-like outside, I place the coat over my shoulders.”
Jil Sander Lagos woven double-breasted coat, $2,060;

3:00 p.m.: “When the bright afternoon arrives, I wear the slips alone and carry the coat. I like layering slips because it means I’m wrapped in two layers of silk—it’s quite warm!”
Ann Demeulemeester black slip dress, $470;
Marc Jacobs silk-duchess dress, $1,200;

7:00 p.m.: “By evening, I put the coat on properly, and grab the beanie from my pocket. I love wearing a beanie with a slip dress, and a bright one adds a pop of color. It’s really easy to pile on all of your favorite pieces at once and kind of play with what you put on and take off as you go from misty morning to blinding afternoon to arctic evening.”
Wolmmelsdorff Knut Waffle beanie, $195;
Rick Owens Maria double-faced cashmere coat, $2,175;

Leave a comment